Awarded films

Films awarded at 13. International Animated Film Festival ANIMATOR 2020

Jury of The International Short Films Competition of the 13th International Animated Film Festival ANIMATOR, consist of: Lizzy Hobbs, Mike Hollingsworth, Jarosław Siwiński decided to grant the following awards:

GRAND PRIX / The Golden Pegasus PLN 45,000
Något att minnas / Something to Remember, Niki Lindroth von Bahr, Szwecja / Sweden, 2019

This dark, thoughtful film, with such sweet music is so much of this time.  It’s a film to watch again and again, to better relish every detail.

2nd Prize/ The Silver Pegasus PLN 15,000
Uzi / Ties, Dina Velikovskaya, Niemcy, Rosja / Germany, Russia, 2019

A unique perspective on a universal issue — letting go.  A really compelling tale, with lovely design and technique which matched the narrative perfectly.

3rd Prize / The Bronze Pegasus PLN 10,000
Machini, Frank Mukunday, Tresor Tshibangu, Kongo / Congo, 2019

The jury loved the way that the narrative unfolded, the serious message told with spirit, the connection with the materials and the skilful way that many techniques were integrated.

Award for The Best Music Film/ Music PLN 7,000
Botschaften / Silent Embassies, Daniel Höpfner, Niemcy / Germany, 2020

The sound design is subtle and technically perfect at every level, and the image and sound have a satisfying correspondence.

SPECIAL PRIZES – Award of The Best Student Film
Pá kis panelom! / Bye Little Block! Éva Darabos, Węgry / Hungary, 2020

So well designed and so filled with ideas, in Bye Little Block we follow the absurdist shockwave of sadness created by the displacement of one woman.

Special Award for artistic merit – in memoriam of Wojciech Juszczak (Artistic Directir’s Award)
Don’t Know What, Thomas Renoldner, Austria 2019

For a rare combination of humor and an experimental form.


Jury of The International Feature Film Competition of the 13th International Animated Film Festival ANIMATOR, composed of: Micheal Frei, Ana Ana Nedeljković and Grzegorz Wacławek decided to award:

The Best Feature Film PLN 35, 000
Away, Gints Zilbalodis, Latvia, 2019, 75’

For the aesthetically innovative journey



Audience Award for The Best Short Film
Jestem tutaj / I’m Here, Julia Orlik, Polska / Poland, 2020, 15’

Audience Award for The Best Feature Film
The Nose or the Conspiracy of Mavericks, Andrey Khrzhanovsky, Rosja / Russia 2020, 89’