New festival date

13. IAFF Animator will take place: 3-9.10.2020


Festival Jury

12. IAFF Animator

Short films

Ewa Borysewicz
She graduated from the Academy of Fine Arts in Kraków. After the good reception of her student animated film Kto by pomyślał? at several different festivals, her animated debut Do serca Twego was nominated to the Golden Bear Award at the International Berlinale 2014 Film Festival and won the Grand Prix at the Animateka Festival in Ljubljana. Ewa has completed the AAIR artistic residence program in Tokyo (2012) as well as at the Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart (2013). She also created short animated films featuring social content for TVP Kultura and Galeria Arsenał in Białystok. She studies film direction at WRiTV UŚ in Katowice.

Bret Battey

He creates electronic, acoustic, and audio-visual concert works and installations, with a focus on generative techniques. He has been a Fulbright Fellow to India and a MacDowell Colony Fellow, and he has received recognitions and prizes from Austria's Prix Ars Electronica, France's Bourges Concours International de Musique Electroacoustique, Spain's Punto y Raya Festival and MuVi4, Abstracta Cinema of Rome, Amsterdam Film eXperience the Texas Fresh Minds Festival, and the Red Stick International Animation Festival for his sound and image compositions. He pursues research in areas related to algorithmic music, haptics, and image and sound relationships. He completed his masters and doctoral studies in Music Composition at the University of Washington and his Bachelors of Music in Electronic and Computer Music at Oberlin Conservatory. His primary composition and technology teachers have been Conrad Cummings, Richard Kareen, and Gary Nelson. He also served as a Research Associate for the University of Washington's Center for Digital Arts and Experimental Media. He is a Professor of Audiovisual Composition at the Music, Technology, and Innovation Institute for Sonic Creativity at De Montfort University, Leicester, UK.

Dr. Franziska Bruckner

Media Scholar and Head of the Research Group Media Creation at St. Pölet University of Applied Sciences; curator and organizer of the international symposium series Animafest Scanner. Co-coordinator of the working group Animation of the German Society for Media Studies and a member of the Executive Board of the ASIFA Austria. She studied Painting and Animated Film at the Vienna University for Applied Art and Theater, Film, and Media Studies at the University of Vienna, where she worked as a University Assistant from 2009 to 2013 and earned her doctorate in 2017. She was a Lecturer at Vienna University, the Eberhard Karls University Tübingen, and the University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria. Her research focuses on the history of animation in German-speaking countries, hybrids of animation and live-action films, animation in virtual and augmented environments, and the connection between art and film.

Feature films

Julie Roy
As executive producer of the French Animation Studio of the National Film Board of Canada, Julie Roy has produced close to 40 animated short films. She holds a master’s degree in cinematography from the University of Montreal and has published numerous articles about women in animated film; she has been a guest programmer for many international film festivals. Notable among recent Julie Roy productions are The Subject (2018) by Patrick Bouchard, which had its world premiere at the Cannes Directors’ Fortnight; Embraced (2018), by Justine Vuylsteker; and The Tesla World Light (2017), by Matthew Rankin, selected in competition for the Semaine de la Critique at Cannes. She was executive producer of the short film Blind Vaysha, by Theodore Ushev, nominated in the animated short category at the 89th Academy Awards in 2017. In 2016, she co-produced The Head Vanishes, by Franck Dion (NFB and Papy 3D), winner of the Cristal, the highest honour awarded at the Annecy International Animated Film Festival.

She also produced Carface (2015), by Claude Cloutier; Pilots on the Way Home (2014), by Priit and Olga Pärn; Bus Story (2014), by Tali, which won the Junior Jury Award at the prestigious Annecy Festival;  Edmond Was a Donkey (2012), by Franck Dion, winner of a Special Jury Award at Annecy and 30 other international awards; Paula (2011) by Dominic-Étienne Simard, which received the Best Short Film award at Berlin Interfilm; and Here and the Great Elsewhere (2012) by Michèle Lemieux, winner of the Grand Prix at Cinanima in Espinho, Portugal.

Encouraging a wide variety of approaches to filmmaking, Julie Roy is currently developing an interactive installation with Nicolas Brault, and is at work with Chris Lavis and Maciek Szczerbowski (directors of Madame Tutli Putli, 2007) on a new short film, provisionally titled The Girl Who Wept Pearls, which will combine stop-motion puppet animation, live action, and computer graphics. Roy has a special interest in experimental animation: she produced Quiet Zone (2015), by Karl Lemieux and David Bryant; Reflection (2013), by Sylvie Trouvé; and Mamori (2010), by Karl Lemieux, Grand Prix winner at the 25 FPS Festival in Zagreb. She is also the producer of the animation section of the NFB Aide au cinéma indépendant (ACIC) program.

Aneta Ozorek
Artistic Director of KLIK Amsterdam Animation Festival, film curator and education expert. She has extensive experience in the production of industry events, educational workshops, exhibitions and festivals on the Polish and European market. She is program advisor of Cinema in Sneakers Film Festival in Warsaw and Head of Short Section at CEE Animation Pitching Forum. Member of Board of Short Film Conference. Polish Ambassador of European Animation Award and Member of European Children Film Associaton. Illustrator of seven books for children. Member of a jury at Berlinale, Odense Film Festival (Denmark), Animabar (Kosovo), Primanima (Hungary), Kineko (Japan), Baltic Pitching Forum (Lithuania) and many others.

Georges Sifianos
Georges Sifianos, born in Greece, is a filmmaker and professor emeritus of animation at ENSAD. He holds a PhD in animation aesthetics and has taught at Paris VIII University, FEMIS and CFT Gobelins. He has also lectured in universities in Europe, India, Korea, Japan and China among others. In 1995, he founded ENSAD's Department of Animation Studies in Paris and served as the academic coordinator for this specialization for several years.
He is a founding member of "CARTOON" (European program MEDIA) and repeatedly participated as a member of the board of directors at the Animation Festival of Annecy and the festival "Rencontres Internationales 10/10". He has also participated in juries of many other animation festivals around the world. He is a member of the board of directors of NEF animation in France.
As a member of PSL academic research group, SACRe (EA 7410), he is interested in the renewal of forms of animation cinema, particularly from the point of view of cognitive science. His book Aesthetics of Animated Cinema received the "McLaren - Lambart" award for the 2014 Society for Animation Studies Best Academic Book and the "Hemingway Grant" in 2015. His recent research focuses on animation forms found on the Parthenon’s Frieze.
He has also worked as an animator and film director. His filmography includes the animated films "SMILE" (1974), "SCENT OF CITY" (1994), "TUTU" (2001), "EGO" (2007) and the feature-film documentary "PETROCHEMICALS, THE CATHEDRALS OF THE DESERT "(1981). The last film won the first prize at the Thessaloniki Film Festival and all films have been screened at festivals around the world including Annecy, Melbourne, China, Montreal, Korea, Stuttgart, Zagreb and Venice Mostra Festival. He has also been involved in the visual arts with several exhibitions mainly from 1990 to 2000.